Masters: Cleanup in progress.

Cleaning up my project. I’ve shortened my project and I’m getting to it’s point; depicting Louise and Ruth spending time together. I may even cut it down even more now I have this clearer image.

A Few Months Ago…
To make it easier for myself I decided to sketch out the eight main points of the story and develop the storyboard from there.
RDC Storyboard
Hand drawn.

I then went on to digitally draw out the Storyboard to make it clearer. Adding colour to identify the charters and Flashback moments.
RDC Storyboard MAR Ditgital
But now I’ve taken out all the mess I don’t need. I was trying to make a series into three minutes. So now I’m focusing on the time and friendship of the two girls.

After watching 2018′ The Favorite , directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, on repeat for several weeks. Simplifying my project Raspberries & Dark Chocolate has been made easy. The black and white Costume Design by Sandy Powell as she puts it, keeping the silhouettes of the time period and then playing with the fabrics, gives the entire film a signature look while being respectful of the historic element.

I found this video about Megamind interesting, at the time I did consider looking at this in more detail for character arches. However now that I’ve cut down my story, I don’t feel that I need to look into it.

Where Iย  am now with my Project.
After making cuts I now only have a few voice actors recording for me. I have music which I have added to the Shortened Animatic of R&DC , I now feel is a bit too dark but would have fit a flashback better which is no longer included. Seen bellow.louise backstory

I thought I would include this small song because it was an early idea that I could have developed to leave out the voice acting. With my limited time I’m now wondering if I should include it or maybe just have it for the credits or not at all?

Developing textures for backgrounds.
RDC Set Design Textures
While extending my skills in Photoshop I looked at how I could create patterns, while my computer is struggling with handling the software, I made some quick developments & choices on how I would continue.
There is just one area I now have to think on, the Colours. Do I go with what I have chosen or do I go with Colour Psychology?

I’ll want to find a book on Colour Psychology and Costume Design, possibly looking into patterns.
Ruth's future to be decided
Developing my skills, I created some concept art with Ruth painting digitally on my tablet.
The other day, I gave myself a quick challenge to do some Concept Art with Photoshop. It did take a couple days & I did use a for of mark making with the technique. Not what I would want to use for this project but I thought I would make it simple for myself since I’m not a pro in digital yet!

Leave a comment